What I Watch, What I Don’t

So, I decided I would finally try to put together a list of what I watch/have been watching, and what I haven’t. I may even try to indicate which of these I still plan on watching. I’ve tried to break it down even further, to the medium that I choose to watch these series. Some comment may be valid on this.

It’s really tricky to put a list like this together, as at any given time, many shows are on hiatus, and so it is difficult to know what I am really watching. However, if I have every intention of watching a show when it returns, and every expectation of a new season coming, I have tried to include it in the list.

-edit-

Two local dramas aren’t on this list, because they don’t fit into any of these categories. But if you have a chance to watch either The Cult, or This Is Not My Life, do it! Both are worth your time.

International Programming – Online Viewing – Up to date

This section refers to programming that I try to get hold of as soon as possible after broadcast, and usually try to watch within a few days of it having been first broadcast.

  • American Dad
  • American Idol
  • Beauty And The Geek (Aus)
  • Better With You
  • Covert Affairs
  • Criminal Minds
  • Entourage
  • Family Guy
  • Glee
  • Hell’s Kitchen
  • House
  • How I Met Your Mother
  • Human Target
  • Leverage
  • Lie To Me
  • Lost
  • Mike and Molly
  • Misfits
  • Project Runway
  • QI
  • Raising Hope
  • Robot Chicken
  • Royal Pains
  • Running Wilde
  • Saturday Night Live
  • Sherlock
  • Supernatural
  • Survivor
  • Tabatha’s Salon Takeover
  • Terriers (I know it’s over, I know it’s not coming back, but it deserves to be here)
  • The Amazing Race
  • The Apprentice
  • The Big Bang Theory
  • The Colbert Report
  • The Daily Show
  • The Event
  • The Good Wife
  • The Mentalist
  • The Middle
  • The X Factor (Aus)
  • The X Factor (UK)
  • Top Chef
  • Top Chef Masters
  • Top Chef: Just Desserts
  • Undercover Boss
  • University Challenge (UK)
  • You Have Been Watching (UK)

International Programming – Online Viewing – Catching Up

These frequently started in the above category, but for one reason or another, I have fallen behind.

  • Bones
  • Chuck
  • Cougar Town
  • Fringe
  • Gary Unmarried
  • Heroes
  • Make It Or Break It

DVR off Local Broadcast

These are programmes that I watch off local broadcast – some is local first-run programming, some is re-runs (indicated with an (R) ), and some is international programming, which I choose to wait until it screens here.

  • 7 Days (NZ panel comedy)
  • A Night At The Classic (NZ mockumentary/standup comedy)
  • CSI
  • CSI: Miami
  • CSI: New York
  • CSI: New York (R)
  • Eggheads (UK)
  • Law and Order
  • Law and Order: Special Victims Unit
  • Law and Order: Criminal Intent
  • Law and Order: Criminal Intent (R)
  • Masterchef: Australia
  • Masterchef: New Zealand
  • The Kitchen Job (NZ equivalent of Kitchen Nightmares)
  • Motorway Patrol (NZ reality cop format)
  • NCIS (R)
  • Project Runway (R)
  • Sons of Anarchy (still S1)
  • Target (NZ consumer watchdog reality)
  • Vampire Diaries (still S1)

Still Waiting To Be Watched

There are a number of current shows which I have started watching, but just not quite made it through. This is for a number of reasons – some, such as Rubicon, I want to be in the right mood to watch. Some, such as Community, I want to watch with my partner, and have to convince her she’s in the right mood. But I have full intentions of watching these, soon. Really!

  • 10 Things I Hate About You
  • Archer
  • Burn Notice
  • Californication
  • Castle
  • Community
  • Damages
  • Huge
  • Increasingly Poor Decisions of Todd Margaret
  • Justified
  • Last Comic Standing
  • Louie
  • Make It Or Break It
  • Modern Family
  • Nikita
  • No Ordinary Family
  • One Tree Hill
  • Outrageous Fortune (NZ drama/comedy)
  • Outsourced
  • Parenthood
  • Party Down
  • Rubicon
  • The Life and Times of Tim
  • The Walking Dead
  • Undercovers
  • V
  • Warehouse 13

Things I Started, Never “Stopped”, But Have Come To Realise I Will Probably Never Finish

  • 30 Rock
  • 90210
  • America’s Next Top Model
  • Drop Dead Diva
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • Haven
  • Hawthorne
  • Hot In Cleveland
  • Hung
  • Smallville
  • The Apprentice (UK)
  • The Office (US)
  • True Blood

Shows that I know I should watch, and probably will watch at some point

  • Breaking Bad
  • Dr Who
  • Mad Men
  • Parks and Rec
  • The Wire

As sad as it is, and as long as it is, I’m sure I’ve missed a number of shows. I’ve got no idea why this would be of interest to anyone other than myself, but I have done it anyway. I was thinking of making some comment about what I watch where, and I think I’ve realised that anything that is even a little bit serialised, I feel I need to watch as close to original broadcast as possible. There are a couple of exceptions (TVD, for example), but I can’t put my finger on why that would be.

Leave a Reply

